In My Printing Apron

debbie little wilson

Getting down to Business

To me, putting on my apron means getting down to business….

It means, “prepare yourself”  for getting messy… well, I am pretty messy most of the time but in an apron, I can get dangerously messy….

I have plans on making 2012 a busy and messy year so I will be in my apron quite a lot.

I am a Printmaker…..

Mainly, I work with Solar Plate etchings and Monotypes. I make my own etching plates and print them either by themselves or in combination with monoprints or monotypes.

The Mice Will Play

I  also collect vintage papers, photographs and ephemera (old valentines, trade cards, postcards, game cards, sheet music, books and etc.).

Today, I have been composing some of my monoprint collages. They are going to be 8 x 8 inches.

I choose a pile  of the ephemera that I want to use and combine them with my Solar Plates  to prepare for printing….. They become what I call my “Set Ups” or “Starts”…

Here are some photos of my stuff and how I begin my process…

file box of small collage bits

solar plates

putting some things together

Once I have a good stack of these “Starts”, I will begin to print…. But that won’t happen for a few more days…… Gotta get back to work…

2 responses to “Getting down to Business

  1. Marilyn Sepich January 11, 2012 at 5:26 pm

    Thank you for posting this site. As you probably know, I have always enjoyed your art. Seeing the process is really interesting.
    Marilyn

Leave a comment